The Waterville Art Society is holding an exhibition until April 22


Waterville Area Art Society co-chair Irene West, left, and Barbara Chase, a member of the Maine Open Juried Art Show Committee, presented the Best in Show award to “Eclipse” by Lyell Castonguay. Photo submitted

The 29th Maine Open Juried Art Show is hosted by Waterville Area Art Society at The Framemakers at 46 Main St., Waterville.

Exhibition hours are 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturday.

The show was open to all amateur and professional performers 18 and older living in Maine, including part-time residents and students. Artists were able to submit a total of two entries, and more than $4,000 in cash prizes were awarded in five art categories, according to a press release from the Maine Open Juried Art Show Committee.

The winners in five categories, as well as the piece selected as Best in Show, were chosen from more than 100 exhibits. Lyell Castonguay won the Best in Show award with “Eclipse”, a woodcut.

In the oil, acrylic, tempera, encaustic division, Eric Glass won first place with “Head Tide, Alna,” an oil on canvas; Mélanie Therrien, won second place with “Victoria”, an acrylic; and Jim McLear won third place with “Shelter and Paint”, an acrylic.


In the watercolour, pen and ink and gouache division, Kay Morris won first prize for a watercolor titled “The Nest”; Michael Vermette won second place with a watercolor entitled “Small Falls, Rangeley, Maine”; and Helen Ruhlin won third place with the creation of a pen (rolling ball) called “Clearwater Pond”.

In the photography and digital media division, CE Morse won first place with an archival pigment on paper called “Farrago #47”; Lisa Mossel Vietze won runner-up with an archival digital print titled “Enfolded”; and Page Eastman won third place with a photograph titled “Blue Mystery”.

In the pastel, charcoal, graphite, and colored pencil division, Richard Huck took first place with “Patchtown,” colored pencil; Kay Sullivan won second place with a pastel titled “Winter’s Short Days”; and Kell Desrosiers won third place with a charcoal piece entitled “Humpback’s Flippers”.

In other media, Bonnie Hayward took first place with an assembly called “Porcine Flyer”; Catherine Gibson won second place with a piece made of clay fibers, old nails, oxide wash and smoke titled “Vessel of 27 Atonements”; and CE Nilles won third place with a fiber art piece titled “The Door”.

There were three jurors for this show. Maggie Libby is an active artist who is also currently Curator of Digital Discovery and Engagement in Special Collections and Archives at Colby College. Rob Smith is a nature photographer who has served as a judge, mentor and moderator for reviews and workshops for different photographer organizations. Karen Adrienne is an artist/owner and director of Artdogs Studios and Circling the Square Fine Art Press, Gardiner.


The judges had the opportunity to individually award a merit award. Smith’s choice fell on Evan Procko, an acrylic called “Arctic River”. Adrienne’s choice fell on a monotype painting by Judith Schneider entitled “Causal Agents. Libby’s choice fell on a watercolor by Laurie Russo-Smith titled “Splashing Waves.”

During the fair, visitors can vote for a public prize, which will be awarded at the end of the fair on Friday 22 April.

The March 19 awards ceremony and exhibition slideshow are available online at


Comments are closed.